-6 degree v -17 degree stem - Bar height difference

JesseD
JesseD Posts: 1,961
edited May 2017 in Road general
At the moment I have a 110mm, -6 degree stem on my roadbike, and i feel my bars are slightly too high so wondered what the difference would be in bar height by swapping to a -17 degree stem of the same length?

I dont have the option of removing spacers as I have a 10mm top cap which is as low as they go for my bike apparently and also have a 6mm Di2 junction box holder spacer thingy under it as well.

I think I need to go down maybe another 5-10mm but think an effective drop of 11 degrees will be too much?

Thanks
Obsessed is a word used by the lazy to describe the dedicated!

Comments

• andy9964
    andy9964 Posts: 930
    According to this

http://yojimg.net/bike/web_tools/stem.php

21mm height difference (I left the steerer at 73° and the height at 30mm)
  • JesseD
    Cheers Andy, 21mm is too much of a drop it would seem.

Great calculator tool that, playing around with the angles I think a -10 stem would be spot on, shame Zipp don't do one.
  • daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,580
    If you use a Garmin (?), Raceware direct make out front mounts with Di2 junction box bracket included - £35 or so.

Cheaper than a new stem I would have thought, especially as you are looking at something of Zipp quality\cost.
    Felt F70 05 (Turbo)
    Marin Palisades Trail 91 and 06
    Scott CR1 SL 12
    Cannondale Synapse Adventure 15 & 16 Di2
    Scott Foil 18
  • JesseD
    Daniel B wrote:
    If you use a Garmin (?), Raceware direct make out front mounts with Di2 junction box bracket included - £35 or so.

Cheaper than a new stem I would have thought, especially as you are looking at something of Zipp quality\cost.

Yep use a Garmin, and am happy to lose the spacer that holds the Di2 mount as that's 6mm so would lower the bars incrementally more which is what I am after.