Powermeter - Is it time?

Dizeee
Dizeee Posts: 337
edited June 2017 in Road general
The answer I guess has to be a yes.

I have been cycling since 2012 now, and do anywhere between 5 to 8 thousand miles a year. I have never used power or even a HRM but I am getting bored with putting in 8 hour weeks on the bike and seemingly not getting any further than I currently am. In addition I am not training for anything specific, kids and shiftwork rule out any spare time I have. I have done RideLondon and some longer sportives so I am just enjoying commuting and weekend club riding as and when I do it. I also do the odd 10 mile TT.

There must be more to riding than measuring onself against Strava segments and power guestimates that show up on there. I don't take Strava stats that seriously anymore as over time I have learned that effect winds and group rides have on most of the data on there.

I have a Garmin 810 and am unsure as to how easy / straightforward it would be to get some power data up on my screen. I am guessing I would need a HRM and a device that would sit on my wheel and speak to the Garmin - is that all I need? Budget is an issue at the moment.

All advice appreciated.

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    edited May 2017
    You haven't actually said what you want to achieve by using a power meter? I have never used one but really enjoy cycling from 10 mile pootles on my own, 50 mile club thrashes through to 300k audaxes.

Lot's of people use a HR to gauge effort (yes, there is a lag at times but it does generally work) and I will often use HR to keep my efforts down on a long ride, so that I go faster overall but this is not essential.