Claiming from the council

webboo
webboo Posts: 6,087
edited June 2017 in Road general
Anyone had experience of claiming for injuries resulting from a crash due to an imperfect road surface from your local council.

Comments

• fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Can you expect a 'perfect' road surface ?
  • debeli
    debeli Posts: 583
    I have no experience. I have crashed many, many times over the decades. Sometimes I have been unhurt; sometimes I have been injured. Sometimes the bike has had a wallop; sometimes it has escaped injury.

On occasion the reason, beyond my own momentary inattention, might have been ascribed to a poor road surface.

These things happen.

Life is full of such incidents. I am not sure why someone would want to pursue another party in an attempt to attach blame to them and generate some financial benefit.

To my mind it is slightly egregious and gauche even to consider the action. The local council is not a 'baddie' in a cowboy film. It is the local-government body that attempts to manage local finances to the wider benefit of the community. What a strange instinct it is to see them as a party from whom to squeeze money after falling off a bicycle. I may be wrong.
  • bendertherobot
    bendertherobot Posts: 11,684
    Simply put, first you have to show the road was dangerous, then the council will be able to rely on their 'reasonable' defence.

(Complex, it's sections 41 and 58 of the Highways Act 1980).

So, how big, what happened, how long has it been there, what type of road?
    My blog: http://www.roubaixcycling.cc (kit reviews and other musings)
    https://twitter.com/roubaixcc
    Facebook? No. Just say no.
  • bendertherobot
    Debeli wrote:

Life is full of such incidents. I am not sure why someone would want to pursue another party in an attempt to attach blame to them and generate some financial benefit.