Through axle query

RrogerD
RrogerD Posts: 14
edited May 2017 in MTB general
Hi,

I hired a bike yesterday and, upon returning it noticed that the beveled lever and presumably threaded rod had gone missing from the end of the Through axle (front wheel). I have no experience of Through axles at all. Only that it was there when I picked up the bike.

The hire shop said that I must have hit something and had it break off. This however is not the case. I had just been riding the trails with nothing more than a few drop-offs. The only thing that I am aware off is that the lever was loose (flopping about) after tightening up the axle at the start. Consequently, they of course wanted to charge me for the cost of replacement of the complete axle.

My questions are: What could have happened? Is it likely that the 'loose' lever may have vibrated and then dropped out completely? Does the end lever come as a separate part and so could be replaced individually?

How does anyone even go-about breaking one of these things?

Thanks for any help. Not trying to apportion blame, just trying to find out what could have happened.

Cheers,

R

Comments

• LimitedGarry
    LimitedGarry Posts: 400
    Well that lever that was lose and flopping about needs to be closed in the same manner you close a quick release skewer.

EDIT: Probably best to demonstrate
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tX6VpXTT-qg
  • RrogerD
    Hi Garry,

Thanks for the response. I did some research when I got home and discovered the same. :-/

Not being 'locked' into place initially, is it likely to have vibrated loose to the point of dropping out?
  • jamski
    jamski Posts: 737