Updating cassette

Christian B
Christian B Posts: 20
edited May 2017 in Workshop
Hi, I'm new to fettling with the bike so need some advice. I haven't yet bought the Zinn book so looking at you guys initially.
I own a b'twin triban 500SE and wanted to update/improve/upgrade the cassette to a larger one. I was wanting to get the Shimano 105 5700 10 speed. Now is it just a case of changing the cassette or do I need to lengthen the chain? Fettle with the derailleur etc or just change it?

Thanks in advance.

Chris

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    If the existing cassette is 10 speed then just change the cassette. If there's a spacer behind the old cassette leave it on. Depending on how much bigger the biggest sprocket is you may have to lengthen the chain by a link, and / or adjust the B screw on the rear mech which determines how close to the cassette the upper jockey wheel sits.

Oh, and if the old cassette had a 12t or larger smallest sprocket and the new one has an 11t, make sure you use the lockring that comes with the new one. A 12t lockring will foul the chain ronning on an 11t cog.
  • Thank you for your advice. After this advice and a bit of googling, it is a 8 speed cassette so unlikely I can do anything to it straight away anyway. Bummer. Its not worth updating the shifters etc too as I may as well have bought a slightly more expensive ride in the first place.

Thanks for your efforts guys.

Chris
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Might be worth thinking about what you are trying to achieve first. If you just want a lower gear (as in, a cassette with some bigger cogs on to help you climb) then there are lots of very cost effective options out there but you will have to be careful to ensure that the RD can handle the biggest cog (for example, a standard RD won't take a 32T) and you may need to adjust the B stop and require a longer chain, etc.