Chamois butter, cheap alternatives query

gavin66
gavin66 Posts: 117
edited June 2017 in MTB general
Does anyone know if there is a cheap but effective alternative to Chamois creams. Maybe something I can buy from a chemists.
I've been using Chamois butt'r Eurostyle for about three years now but I use quite a lot of it and it's becoming an expensive addition to the cost of my mountainbiking. It is something I need though as I do seem to get sore quite easily, even with good quality pads.
Thanks in advance :)

Comments

• andcp
    andcp Posts: 644
    Try petroleum jelly (vaseline) - I've never tried it, but one of the chaps in the club swears by its and it's relatively cheap.
    "It must be true, it's on the internet" - Winston Churchill
  • robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    Try Nature's Kiss Chafe-Ease, if you have delicate nethers, it goes a long way as well for such a small pot.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • batmo
    batmo Posts: 277
    I've had good results from products containing deer tallow, first recommended to me by a mate who made prosthetic limbs for a living and found it gave good protection from chafing at sockets.
    Viscount Grand Touring - in bits
    Trek ZX6500 - semi-retired
    HP Velotechnik Spirit
    Brompton M6
    Specialized Camber Comp
  • K13_275
    K13_275 Posts: 6
    Coconut oil is awesome , can get it in Aldi , home bargains etc for about a fiver . I don't like to use products containing animal parts and you only need a tiny amount. Even though its solid in the jar it reacts to body heat and liquifies .
  • I switched to Udderly Smooth - a lot cheaper than chamois cream and seems to work just as well.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    For long rides (about 8 hours plus) I use Vaseline, works fine for me.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • kirkee