Rim Wear: How Worn Is Worn Out? Pics Included

buckmulligan
buckmulligan Posts: 1,031
edited August 2019 in Workshop
So I've been keeping an eye on my rear rim for the last 12 months or so, I know it's approaching the end of its life but when do you call it a day and replace it?

The wheels in question are Mavic Ksyrium Elites; the front isn't so bad at all, but the rear is looking more and more treacherous every time I look at it! :shock: I'm well aware that it's not cost-effective to buy new rims and rebuild these wheels, so it'll just be a case of binning it and buying a replacement. :cry:

I've had these wheels since late-2012, so they've served me well but where do you draw the line with regard to rim wear? Do Mavic rims from around this time have a wear indicator at all?

Front:
20170505_191343_zpssubhhjnh.jpg

Rear:
20170505_191246_zps9qmvvmmb.jpg

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,235
    The rear is very bad... new wheels time...
    left the forum March 2023
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Yepp, i would agree with that. Not worth risking a blowout as they can be very messy and are always an end of ride event. The obvious thing to do is look for someone selling a decent rear wheel...and then you realise that lots of people have a decent front wheel and not the rear. Throwing an excellent wheelset away when just a single rim is worn is the main reason I went down the handbuilt route...and have never regretted it.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    How many people do most of their braking at the rear?
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    How many people drag the front break?
  • ugo.santalucia

In my career as a wheelbuilder I have replaced a rim or two... never seen a front wearing quicker than a rear. The rear wheel is always filthier than the front
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337