New biker bought a used Trek Xcaliber 7 (2016) chainset issue

Rygar
Rygar Posts: 18
edited May 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
Im a newbie biker (haven't biked since 20 years).

I bought a very used Trek Xcaliber 7 2016 model.

Now I took it to the bike shop the guy said it needs a new chainset as the teeth are worn. They were quoting me silly money to fix it like £200 (with a new chain), and said I best off buying a new bike. Is it hard to change ?

Which one do I need ? I found some on eBay under "Shimano C/SET Acera M3000 oct 40/30/22 9s 175 | 40 / 30 / 22 teeth" is this the correct one ?

Heres pic of my chainset.

33716827341_1f185f72a8_h.jpg

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    £200?

You can get a Shimano Deore for about £50-60, easy DIY job (tools will cost a max of £25) and a chain for about £10...... And you'll have the tools for the next job!
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    If it's that shagged replace the cassette as well.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Have a look at a few 'how to' videos on YouTube and Park Tools, buy a new chainset, cassette and chain, the appropriate tools and do it yourself. The whole lot shouldn't cost much more than £100 and will take you about an hour.
    Depending on what chainset you currently have you may be able to simply replace the chain rings rather than the whole chainset. (I can't see the picture you posted.)

Oh, and find another LBS that won't try and rip you off.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • cooldad