Turning my Commuter into MTB

SenseiSmash
SenseiSmash Posts: 3
edited May 2017 in MTB general
Hello everybody,

I'm new to the forum and pretty new to MTB. I live in Charlotte NC and my wife and I just started MTB at the National White Water Center out here, they have free rentals which is nice but they are always pretty beat up and need tuning etc so I was looking at getting my own bike, the issue is that I just want something that can make it through the trails reliably without spending much. I have come across a mint Gary Fisher Artemis for next to nothing $20.00 ( Here is a link to the bike) http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/Bike ... el=Artemis
Every thing I'm reading says this is primarily a commuter bike, I would like to change out the forks on it with a suspension fork, I would love some feedback on what brand or style fork to get for it. Again I don't need anything high end yet as I'm just getting into it but I would like something that would take some of the rocks and stumps and make them more manageable than the stiff fork that it comes with,. I will be replacing the pedals with something a little more aggressive as well. Do you guys recommend doing anything else to the bike right from the start or is this a good start to get it out on the trails?

Thank you so much for any feedback you may have.

Adam

Comments

• robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    There is a saying, "you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear".

You'd be wasting time and effort doing anything to that bike, I'd just get a budget and find something more fit for purpose with a decent frame.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • Uber_Pod
    Uber_Pod Posts: 110
    For 20 bucks you could ride it till it (or you) breaks. Meanwhile, save up for something more appropriate.
    As already said, it won't make sense spending anything more on it.
    Look up what the rental bikes are and look for something similar, maybe?