How to inflate tyres accurately?

madster
madster Posts: 5
edited May 2017 in The workshop
Hello,

I'm relatively new to commuting, and one of the basic rules I learned is to always inflate your tyres.

Now, I find this very challenging, because every time I inflate tyres there is always a split second of air coming out, when you remove the pump and screw the cap back in. I have no idea how much pressure my tyre eventually has. Sometimes I even doubt is better than before :/

Am I doing something wrong? How do you inflate your tyres?

Thank you!

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    I put in a couple of PSI more than I want - so when the pump head doesn't release quickly it comes back down to the pressure I need.

But TBH - it's irrelevant - unless you spill air for a few seconds you're going to be within 5psi anyway.
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    air always comes out, so just choose a number and pump it up to that .... if you decide it needs more or less air then next time pump it up more or less.

Thinking I need exactly 90psi and trying to inflate to 92.3psi so when you de couple it deflates to 90psi +/- 0.4psi is futile and pointless

keep the process simple, pick your arbitrary number in the range on the tyre (90psi), take the pump off "pssht" and test the tyre ... if its not hard enough for you ... stick more in .. (95psi)
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    fat daddy wrote:
    air always comes out, so just choose a number and pump it up to that .... if you decide it needs more or less air then next time pump it up more or less.

Thinking I need exactly 90psi and trying to inflate to 92.3psi so when you de couple it deflates to 90psi +/- 0.4psi is futile and pointless

keep the process simple, pick your arbitrary number in the range on the tyre (90psi), take the pump off "pssht" and test the tyre ... if its not hard enough for you ... stick more in .. (95psi)