Mtb tyres on road

Legit potato
Legit potato Posts: 4
edited April 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello, im quite new to mountain biking (did quite a bit of road cycling) and im going to a holliday, but there arent any mtb trails around just a lot of roads... So i will be riding a lot of road climbs. Since after every climb there is a long descent all the way back to hotel, im intrested what tyre pressure is gonna work best (for grip not rolling resistance)? Is 15-20psi too low and i should ride with normal presure of around 24psi or is even lower better? Also how does cornering grip with some chunky 2.3 tyres compare to road bike tyres? Thanks.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    I'd be using much higher pressures if it's just road, and as for grip, you'll see when you fall off.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad wrote:
    I'd be using much higher pressures if it's just road, and as for grip, you'll see when you fall off.

Errr i dont really like road rash :D... So higher pressures on road = more grip? Keep in mind im a bit less than 60kg
  • thistle_
    thistle_ Posts: 7,121
    cooldad wrote:
    Errr i dont really like road rash :D... So higher pressures on road = more grip? Keep in mind im a bit less than 60kg
    Can you get some different tyres? Maybe something like this http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/schw ... -prod24640
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    I regularly use my mtb on the road as my nearest acceptable trail is cycleable to on the road.

Running knobbly 2.3 continental vertical or 2.1 racing ralph, the grip is less on the road compared to 25c/28c Contis' pro sport and gatorskin .. there isn't a comparison really, nobbles squirm around change shape, and spread the contact patch out so the tyre doesn't dig down on the road.