Warning - Newbie Post - What to buy?

Gavzooka
Gavzooka Posts: 4
edited March 2017 in MTB buying advice
Hi All

As the title suggests, I'm completely new to cycling and mountain bikes. I have read the sticky post but anyway....I'm approaching 40 and over weight and decided that I would follow something that I had a passion for years ago when I grew up in Wales and now, after going through several 2nd hand bikes and destroying them in various ways (I'm talking old knackers off of Facebook for £20), I'm biting the bullet and buying myself and my daughter new bikes.

My budget is reasonable but the cheaper the better.....but don't want to lose quality. I've been looking at the following and would appreciate and views people have regarding these:

Boardman Team 29er - £650
http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/m ... -team-29er

This is my first choice at present, simply down to the specs. I'm looking for light and as feature packed as possible without going stupid on the budget. I'm not sure how I would take to the gears though (being SRAM GX 1x11).

Voodoo Bizango 29e - £625
http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/m ... ntain-bike

This is one of my other choices and although it saves a little, its not a lot. The specs seem lower than the Boardman though and its back to traditional gears which I'm used to. I hear Voodoo bikes are good though and are considered one of the better ready built bikes.

Carrera Fury - £600
http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/m ... ntain-bike

This was my initial choice until I spotted the others. Seems to be a reasonable spec considering the price and reviews I've read see it in a positive light albeit not as positive as the Boardman. Considering the Boardman is just £50 more and seems a lot better spec, is it really worth getting this unless I can find it a lot cheaper in a sale?