New to road riding, feeling a bit all(some) of the gear, no idea!

Bokers
Bokers Posts: 37
edited August 2017 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm new to road cycling. I've done a few trails each year wth my friends but in a bid to get fitter, and as a by-product slim down a bit, I've decided to start road cycling too. It's mainly for fun in the evenings and weekends for now but when I can build up to a hilly 13-mile commute, I'll go for it.

Having the luxury of a cycle to work scheme, I've purchased a bike and a few accessories. I should have posted on here and researched before diving in as I'm feeling a little out of my depth already.

So I have a Hoy Aomori 003 in XL. I have just flat pedals, for now, a helmet, some lights and a pair of gloves.

I also bought an FWE hi-vis jacket, a jersey, cycling shorts and I have some base layers which I already own from going to the gym.

So. I have some gear, I have the bike and it's just time to ride, yes? Well, I've been on some shorter rides (5-8 miles) and I'm getting the hang of being back in the saddle. After getting a puncture already I've invested in some spare tubes and a repair kit, the walk home last time wasn't too fun haha.

I'm after some advice on how to use the bike properly and get the most from cycling so I can enjoy it and get fitter.

So, before I jump on my bike, what the hell do I wear? Being a big sweaty chap and no stranger to chafing (don't imagine that...) should I be wearing anything under my cycling shorts? Underarmour base layers ok? Or longer legging type base any better? What about the top half? Base layer top, jersey and a stashed rain jacket? I just want to know what's best so I feel as if I can attack the cycling.

As for the bike, it was setup when I purchased it on a trainer so I'm happy with the saddle height etc. I'm usually pushed forward onto the bars with my hands over the top.
So when do I use the lower bars? Are they for the down or up the hill?