UK cycling in easter

djhnz
djhnz Posts: 50
edited March 2017 in Road general
I'm recently moved to London from New Zealand, and i've just realised Easter is a 4 day weekend. I'm keen to get on a train and head somewhere which is a decent sized city, but has some decent 50 ish mile routes to do. After some research everything seems to say Wales or North Scotland.

Would somewhere like Cardiff have some fun climbs and keep me entertained in the evenings? I have limited knowledge of UK roads/regions.

Thanks in advance,

Comments

• Have a look at Bristol
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    edited March 2017
    Cheltenham ain't so bad. there is a vibrant student scene and the Cotswolds are right on the doorstep. The problem with a lot of cities is the crap miles just to get out of town.
  • Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    Edinburgh. Close to the Scottish borders for cycling, and a great city.
  • ben@31
    ben@31 Posts: 2,327
    Edinburgh has the worst road surface I've ever came across.

My recommendation (if you like hills) is the west coast of Scotland. Glen Coe and Fort William or Ullapool and Applecross.
    "The Prince of Wales is now the King of France" - Calton Kirby
  • AK_jnr
    AK_jnr Posts: 717
    Vibrant student scene. Thats a good reason not to go there then. Haha.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    The problem with Scotland at this time of year is that it's likely to be very cold still. Spring arrives at least a month later in the Highlands than the south. And, I agree, roads in Edinburgh are shocking. Bristol for nightlife or Bath for culture.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,237
    ben@31 wrote:

My recommendation (if you like hills) is the west coast of Scotland. Glen Coe and Fort William or Ullapool and Applecross.