A Few Questions - Just Starting Out

Shin-Ra
Shin-Ra Posts: 9
edited March 2017 in MTB beginners
Hey,

Just thought I would post a few questions I have and hopefully you guys can help answer them?

1). Mountain Bike Coaching/Skills courses, since I'm new to the sport would it be worth while going on a coaching/skills session? If it is worth it can anyone recommend someone in the Hamsterly Forest area?

2). Dropper seat... get one or don't bother? From the reading I've done people seem to hail these as a "game changer", do they make that much of a difference or would it not be something required for riding places like Hamsterly Forest?

3). 1X setup... make the change or leave things alone? This seems to come up as much as the dropper seat, is it worth changing over to a 1X setup or is the work/cost involved not really worth it?

4). Tools/Bike Stand - One thing I don't have is a bike stand... or any bike specific tools... any suggestions on essentials that I should pick up and by what brands, in regards to the bike stand is this something I'm going to need or can work be done without mounting the bike on a stand?

5). Clothing/shoes - Is there anything specific I should look to pick up or will I be good-to-go in trainers and casual clothes?

No doubt I'll have more questions come to mind but if you guys can help with the about it would be much appreciated :)

Cheers!

Comments

• Uber_Pod
    Uber_Pod Posts: 110
    Shin-Ra wrote:
    3). 1X setup... make the change or leave things alone? This seems to come up as much as the dropper seat, is it worth changing over to a 1X setup or is the work/cost involved not really worth it?

If you never use the other one/two front rings, removing them will make things simpler and save a teeny bit of weight.
    If you're starting out, I can't see how either would make much difference.

I'd guess that once you ride a lot more, you'll 'know' whether it's the right thing to do for you (and your current bike).
  • cooldad