Energy replacement?

gingertimmins
gingertimmins Posts: 26
edited April 2017 in Road beginners
Hi guys, as mentioned in an earlier post I'm new to the world of road bikes so here I am with a possibly silly question.

The question is what are good things to eat within the 20 minute post exercise window? I guess protein would be good but I don't often have cooked chicken or whatever in my fridge when I get home.

The problem for me isn't so much longer rides as I expect to be knackered after that and I find some rest and good food does the job. I'm actually looking for a way to replenish my energy during the week after my 8 mile each way commute. I find that by mid week my legs are sluggish and I get really tired in the evenings. I know 8 miles is nothing to most of you roadies but I'm also a chef so I'm on my feet all day. In the morning I normally smash out a bacon sarnie within 20 minutes of getting to work so that's cool but I'm wondering if there is some sort of nutrition bar or something to have as a snack when I arrive home? I'm currently eating a bowl of nutty muesli but I also have that for breakfast and I'm getting bored of it.

So, sorry for the long post but what do you guys eat?

Comments

• meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    There's a misconception that you need protein directly after a ride (in the "magic" 20-40 minute window). This isn't so. Your body will use protein as and when it gets it as it needs it.

What you MIGHT need is carbs. Your body will spike insulin in that 20-40minute window and store blood sugars preferentially as glycogen during that period. There's no harm in taking some protein at that point and chocolate milk or breakfast cereal with milk seems to be a good bet.