Frame Damage Question

FOAM
FOAM Posts: 13
edited March 2017 in Road general
Hi,

So I have just replaced my Planet X XLS carbon frame to something a little more leisurely, thought nothing of it and sold the frame on Ebay.

It has been returned to me because there is some damage to the chainstay that I wasn't aware of.

I'm by no means an expert but to me it hardly looks like anything.

Does this compromise the frame in any way? and is it safe to resell?

Pictures:

Jbf9Obb.jpg
e2k5SK9.jpg

It looks worse in the 2nd picture.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Looks like tyre rub to me. It's not a crack so not a problem I would have thought. That area is usually pretty strong.
  • hambini
    hambini Posts: 113
    That area is usually well reinforced because it's near the bottom bracket. It looks like it has gone through the paint. As the poster above said, I wouldn't think much of it.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Something has worn it but i dont think its a tyre? I'd expect more of an arc and that seems to be a straight line?

Might be nothing but i can see why it was returned.
  • teebs_123
    teebs_123 Posts: 357
    Sam happened to me with a Scott Foil. They replaced it under warranty. Faulty carbon drop out was the issue causing a mis-alignment of wheel/tyre.
    Orbea Orca OMX DI2 MyO
    Kinesis 4s Di2
  • FOAM
    FOAM Posts: 13
    Thanks for getting back to me. Tyre rub sounds like it could have happened as I remember a while back the wheel was misaligned before I took it to get serviced.

Not sure if it's worth anything now so may just keep it as a spare.
  • Giraffoto
    Giraffoto Posts: 2,078