Recovery Drinks/ Food

w1lz
w1lz Posts: 37
Hi guys,

So I'm relatively new to road cycling and until now I havnt used any form of protein recovery drinks. Recently i have been upping the tempo and length of my training sessions and feel I now could do with some form of recovery product.

When looking it feels like a minefield. I'm very interested in the brand 'myprotein' as it seems cheap and has relatively good reviews but there are so many options. My friend who is a runner has a mix of whey protein and oat something?! He says his bio science friend told him it was perfect for recovery and much cheaper than the recovery specific shakes.

So I basically would like to know what do you do?

What's best on a budget?

And what does a cyclist need in terms of protein etc?

Also any experience with the above brand?

Any help would be great!!

Thanks

Comments

• gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,517
    Lump of cheese?
  • w1lz wrote:
    Hi guys,

Recently i have been upping the tempo and length of my training sessions and feel I now could do with some form of recovery product.

When looking it feels like a minefield.

Think cardio
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Tuna sandwich, beans on toast, chocolate milkshake, etc, your larder probably already has everything you need.
  • wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    You don't really need anything special. I eat a couple of boiled eggs after a ride. They have protein in.
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,495
    I have some cheap, basic whey protein which I add to milk and a bit of chocolate powder.
    I don't use it every ride, but if I've had a heavy week and a hard session then I'll use some - maybe once a week.
  • mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,613
    Been having a post-ride glass of chocolate milk for a while now.