Tyre Wear issue

1964johnr
1964johnr Posts: 179
I'm new to turbo training and have just purchased a basic magnetic trainer from BD bikes for £60. Set it up okay and did 90 minutes. When I got off I realised that huge amounts of rubber had been shed from my cheap road tyre. There is no tread left on it and it has now been worn smooth. Now this would normally take a thousand miles on the road to happen. I tried adjusting it so that the tyre only just touches the roller, but the wheel begins to slip at certain points so no good. I did a bit of research and found this to be a common problem. I now need to find a solution. Will a turbo specific tyre sort it out?
Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• Alex99
    Alex99 Posts: 1,407
    1964johnr wrote:
    I'm new to turbo training and have just purchased a basic magnetic trainer from BD bikes for £60. Set it up okay and did 90 minutes. When I got off I realised that huge amounts of rubber had been shed from my cheap road tyre. There is no tread left on it and it has now been worn smooth. Now this would normally take a thousand miles on the road to happen. I tried adjusting it so that the tyre only just touches the roller, but the wheel begins to slip at certain points so no good. I did a bit of research and found this to be a common problem. I now need to find a solution. Will a turbo specific tyre sort it out?
    Any help would be appreciated.

What you describe is not normal. I suspect that either they tyre you're using has a serious problem, or that the roller was set with too low contact pressure giving slippage. Many people use standard road tyres to many many miles on a turbo without problems. Something standard like a conti gatorskin should last ages.
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    was the road tyre a "knobbled" one or slick