Strange problem suddenly appeared with my brakes

drwae
drwae Posts: 223
edited March 2017 in Workshop
This just started a few weeks ago, previously my brakes were fine (Ultegra 6800). I think it has happened on the front but lately I've only been noticing it significantly on the rear.
I will go for a ride (even a short 10 minutes to the gym) and when I get off the bike I notice the brake pads aren't an equal distance from the braking surface any more. One will be really close and the other will be really far away. Sometimes I have even got my bike out the rack to use it and found one side is rubbing.
It seems to be resolved by opening the quick release and putting it back down again, that puts the pads back to an equal distance.
I have also tried adjusting the distance using the little allen bolt and I still get the problem.

It's probably something really simple but I'm no mechanic! :)

Comments

• fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    mine do this when they need a clean ..... might not be your issue, but if It was my bike and used in all weathers, it would be a clean and lube the pivots and cable.
  • drwae
    fat daddy wrote:
    mine do this when they need a clean ..... might not be your issue, but if It was my bike and used in all weathers, it would be a clean and lube the pivots and cable.
    I've already tried to lubricate the pivots and I clean the bike every time it gets really dirty but I haven't really paid much attention to the cables, will see about lubricating the brake cable and maybe flushing out the rear housing with some gt85, cheers
  • jermas
    jermas Posts: 484
    Check the calipers are mounted tight enough (8Nm-10Nm) to the frame/forks. If they're loose they can rotate on their central pivot.
  • drwae
    jermas wrote:
    Check the calipers are mounted tight enough (8Nm-10Nm) to the frame/forks. If they're loose they can rotate on their central pivot.
    I'd have to get a torque wrench to do that one... :)
  • fenix