Should i fix/upgrade or buy new?

sarequads
sarequads Posts: 18
edited February 2017 in The workshop
Should I upgrade/fix current bike or buy new?

I am new to cycling, I was bike daft when I was a kid back in the 90s early 00s when id go about mostly on a bmx but i have had to get a sensible bike due to the distance I need to cover on a daily basis.

I use my bike for commuting about 100 mikes per week (10 x 10 mile journeys, to work and back 5 times per week). I have an Innate Alpha Cyclocross by 13 Bikes. http://halfords.cdn.amplience.com/image ... ocross.jpg I bought it second hand in good condition for £275 in October and have done over 1000 miles. The bike is great for my needs, it weighs 12.2 kg according to the official specs and this although heavy is fine. I use carbon fibre soled road shoes and wear a Boardman cycling bib.

Currently the brakes need tightened, brakes make a sound on the disc, front wheel bearing feels a bit loose and probably needs replacing, some mudguard parts have rusted and fallen off, gears work but are not as sharp as when I first got it, they jump up 2 rather than 1 and take ages to do so and im scared to sprint on it as there have been a couple of instances where its changed gear mid sprint. The bottom bracket may be starting to go also, not cornflake sounding yet but a wee bit of movement. Where the frame meets the fork there is a bit of give, possibly only 0.5mm but still. I feel that the wheels don’t roll that well, when you spin them they stop pretty quickly. It has a 175mm crank length but after doing calculations found on GCN YouTube channel I may need 165mm, ive been told they dont come this short though. Finally, I never use my 2-3 smallest gears on the back and I feel that I could do with more mid ranged ones.