Upgrade or New Bike?

Chkin11
Chkin11 Posts: 8
edited January 2017 in Road buying advice
I have been hovering for quite some time on here and have seen many of these threads, I've been cycling off and on since 2012 and still on my first bike (Stock) 2011 Cannondale Synapse Alloy 6 (Tiagra 4500 3X9). I'm looking to upgrade components (5800 entire groupset) and wheels (Fulcrum Quattros) or, grab a new ride.

Edited: {personal life story removed} :?

My upgrades are looking to be around $670+ range which is about what I paid for the bike originally. My economics says do the upgrades (cheaper) but its hard to justify spending as much to upgrade a bike as what it originally cost new.

I was considering Defy Advance 2 ($1950) or possibly a CAAD12 (1500).

My riding style is mostly endurance, but of course I want to work on "my" fast too.

Comments

• Honestly I think any upgrade or new bike is not going to make much of a difference. You just need to get out there and ride until you can keep up with the bunch, that bike is more than good enough. It can be tough but stick at it and it won't take long.
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    ^^This, work on your fitness then reward yourself for the effort.
  • mrfpb
    mrfpb Posts: 4,569
    Don't tiagra do 11-28 or 11-30 for the rear? You may need a new deraillieur, but it would be a lot cheaper than the full upgrade for the drive system.

Then keep saving for a second bike witht the nice wheels and groupset included,
  • mrfpb wrote:
    Don't tiagra do 11-28 or 11-30 for the rear? You may need a new deraillieur, but it would be a lot cheaper than the full upgrade for the drive system.

Then keep saving for a second bike witht the nice wheels and groupset included,