Race etiquette - never stop pedalling?

salsamuffin204
salsamuffin204 Posts: 27
edited February 2017 in Amateur race
Hi guys,

I'm new to racing. I'm an ex-pat living in South Korea and I've joined a race team.

I was recently criticised for stopping pedalling in the bunch. I guess I do this automatically to slow down when I'm in danger of crossing wheels with the rider in front or if there is a pothole or something in the road.

They tell me I should always pedal even if it means pedalling while applying some brake to avoid the wheel in front. They say a rider stopping pedalling makes the rider behind nervous.

I don't remember this never stop pedalling etiquette from my club riding days in the Uk. I'm curious if it's a local thing or if it's a universal racing pack etiquette thing.

Comments

• maryka
    maryka Posts: 748
    I soft-pedal usually rather than stop and freewheel completely. So legs slowly turning around against no resistance.

1) it means I can start pedalling again quickly if I need to (quicker to put the power down as my legs are already moving rather than stopped)
    2) I also can modulate my speed better than by freewheeling and braking, braking is the thing you shouldn't be doing really, whether you're pedalling or not!
    3) the most annoying sound on a group ride is someone's loud ratchety freewheel behind you constantly going on and off. In a bunch it's not as bad but still, I prefer to keep soft-pedalling rather than coast in the bunch where possible.

How do they go around corners if they are always pedalling? :lol: Presumably there's some agreed-on space before a turn when you're allowed to stop pedalling without frightening the rider behind into a crash?
  • Alex99
    Alex99 Posts: 1,407