Handbuilt Road Bike - Update 6!

norwichdanny
norwichdanny Posts: 105
edited June 2017 in Your road bikes
Hi,
I thought I would post pictures of a bike I have just started to build. The plan is to replace my ageing work bike. I have built a couple so far but only fixies, as slightly more forgiving with no jig and alignment is by straight edges and a good eye! This will be my first geared bike, and please remember that i am not a professional who does this for a living!
a22aa2b40d99d5e92e55a75843d6b598_zpswsnpehoc.jpg
Tubes, Lugs and all the little bits to be brazed on. Bronze brazing rod on the left.
a27156e3af7401ad327b6cff2f8e2239_zpssmgc0ads.jpg
Carefully drawn plans, and tube mitre templates.

Comments

• cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    What tubing are you using. Id love to have the time to do this.
    http://www.thecycleclinic.co.uk -wheel building and other stuff.
  • bbrap
    bbrap Posts: 610
    This takes bike building to a whole new level. Most of us on here think bolting bits together constitutes a build. Please take the time to photo document the build and keep us posted, I'm sure most will be fascinated to see it come to life, I know I will. Good luck.
    Rose Xeon CDX 3100, Ultegra Di2 disc (nice weather)
    Ribble Gran Fondo, Campagnolo Centaur (winter bike)
    Van Raam 'O' Pair
    Land Rover (really nasty weather :lol: )
  • Nice!
    left the forum March 2023
  • Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    Who made the lugs?
  • Hi,
    The tubes are a mixture of columbus cromor and generic taiwanese steel. Lugs are investment cast long points by long shen. I spent a few months practice brazing with odd tubes and bits. I was also lucky enough to inherit a huge amount of tools from my grandfather and father who were both engineers. I had hoped that by my 5th frame I would have a rideable bike, but my second one turned out perfectly (a racing porteur!) I'll post a photo of it tomorrow, and keep the thread updated with this build.