Steering feels gritty

Danieljephcott
Danieljephcott Posts: 334
edited December 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello all,

After not using my bike for two weeks the steering was locked up. Didn't take much to unlock it with a slight tug but if I lift the front up and move the handlebar left to right it feels gritty. No performance issues and bike rides the same as it always has but it is concerning me.

Most rides are very muddy so the bike does get cleaned a lot. I've also used the jet wash last couple of times due to quite a bit of sheep poop.

Do you think I've blown some dirt into the headset? Any ideas on what I should do.

I would imagine I need to take the forks out and clean inside the head tube.

Your help and advice would be great. Please advice in complete novice steps :).

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Depends on the headset.
    Loose balls - clean/lube. Replace if rusted.
    Cartridge bearings - replace.

Don't aim a jetwash at bearings, if you have to use one.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad wrote:
    Depends on the headset.
    Loose balls - clean/lube. Replace if rusted.
    Cartridge bearings - replace.

Don't aim a jetwash at bearings, if you have to use one.

As always some wicked advice I just wish I knew a bit more about that you where talking about :). This is my bike just incase it helps:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/mobi ... lsrc=aw.ds

So do I undo the stem and then undo the Allen bolt at the top of the headset and then the fork drops down?
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Depending on the parts, but you'll have to remove the compression wedge and it may need a bit of a tap on top of the steerer to get it started.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.