Coming to the road from MTB XC race background

mikeyj28
mikeyj28 Posts: 754
edited November 2016 in Road beginners
Hi,

I have been riding bikes for years and wouldn't be classed as a beginner at all. Although I am new to the road!
I have turned to the road for me to get some much needed miles in over the winter and to provide myself with some variety.
I have raced XC for a number of years and was pretty quick in my early-mid 20's but have since slowed up a little although I do still enter a race or two to satisfy my competitive nature.
After clocking up a good 800 miles on the road bike I have some observations and just want to see if it is just me or whether it is to be expected having come from a mountain biking background.
1: While riding uphill, I tend to feel it a little more in the legs (thighs). I have a 50/34 chainset on the road and yes my carbon HT MTB has a 26/39 chainset which will make it feel a bit easier getting up the hills (but I seem to be faster on the MTB too). Is it strange though to feel the hills are a little harder on the road bike or not?
2: The handling on the road bike seems a lot less sure footed and in the wet I am a bit more sketchy. Not sure if it is nerves or the MTB gives a more of a planted feel on the tarmac? I am running 25mm tyres on my road bike.
3:Getting used to being on the drops is still odd to me and I feel a lot of the time I am just resting my hands on the shifters.
4: Getting up the hills - I am getting out of the saddle a lot more than on the MTB. Is this normal??

Sorry for the rambling message but I have found it strange going to the road for extended periods, yet, it is strangely addictive too and enjoyable. Any tips to improve would be greatly appreciated too. My fitness is good and have good bike handling skills but, the road bike is just so alien to me too. Will my performance on the road improve with time?

Thanks