Tacx Vortex smart - gradient limitations?

dabber
dabber Posts: 1,926
Please bear with me... new to world of SMART trainers and despite trying to read up I'm getting confused.
I have no experience of power meters and the turbo I currently use is a Tacx Sirius.

I'm debating whether to buy a Tacx Vortex as it seems to have decent function and sits within my budget. I'd like to start using Trainer Road (and maybe Swift).

One of the areas I'd like to work on improving is climbing for sustained periods on gradients in excess of 8% or so. I ride a lot in France and although not fast I can keep for decent periods on climbs up to around that gradient (not fast but keep going fine). On 10%+ my old legs start to feel it quite a lot and although I've made it up 20%+ sections of climbs it's something I'd like to be better on.

Now to my question... the Tacx Vortex says it replicates slopes upto 7% and Max brake power (10 sec.) 950 Watt.
Will the 7% therefore limit the benefit I would get from the Vortex especially running programs with a higher gradient simulation?
“You may think that; I couldn’t possibly comment!”

Wilier Cento Uno SR/Wilier Mortirolo/Specialized Roubaix Comp/Kona Hei Hei/Calibre Bossnut

Comments

• bobinski
    bobinski Posts: 570