Creaking on downstroke on driveside

Tashman
Tashman Posts: 3,401
edited October 2016 in Workshop
Hi all, sorry if i'm rehashing old stuff but as a relative newbie I'm after some guidance.
I've developed a creak as my driveside crank is driven down. This happens whether i'm in the saddle or stood on the pedals. What's my trouble shooting list to eliminate please?

Comments

• arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    Tashman wrote:
    Hi all, sorry if i'm rehashing old stuff but as a relative newbie I'm after some guidance.
    I've developed a creak as my driveside crank is driven down. This happens whether i'm in the saddle or stood on the pedals. What's my trouble shooting list to eliminate please?

This issue is something we could probably ask the mods to do a sticky on. It appears regularly and there are probably dozens of threads where the checklist of options has been suggested.

You don't tell us which bike, groupset or BB style you have so we're king of shooting in the dark.

Anyway here are a few suggestions.

1 If it's a pressfit BB (BB30, PF30, BB86 etc) then that could be one option to check
    2 Pedals - worn bearing on pedal spindle can cause creaking
    3 QR skewers - some posters have found that skewers not done up correctly can cause creaks
    4 Saddles and saddle mounts - less likely in your case as it happens when you're out of the saddle

I'm sure there are others checklist options but I think the above are some of the ones to eliminate first
  • Tashman
    Tashman Posts: 3,401
    arlowood wrote:
    Tashman wrote:

This issue is something we could probably ask the mods to do a sticky on. It appears regularly and there are probably dozens of threads where the checklist of options has been suggested.

You don't tell us which bike, groupset or BB style you have so we're king of shooting in the dark.

Anyway here are a few suggestions.

1 If it's a pressfit BB (BB30, PF30, BB86 etc) then that could be one option to check