zipp 303, novice-ish cyclist

tunit2190
tunit2190 Posts: 4
edited October 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi guys, I'm a long time follower, first time poster of this forum.

I've been cycling for about 2 years now (~300km a week). To date my trusty weapon of choice is a 500 pound bike with the box standard Shimano wheels. I am looking to upgrade my wheels with a 600 pound budget.

I found a Zipp 303 Firecrest Rear Clincher on sale right now for 404 pounds (394 after coupon) on CRC. I haven't shopped around much for wheels but I think that this is a good price, but wanted to hear your thoughts whether I should impulse buy or wait ... say if this price might drop even lower around the holidays? Any experienced buyers here?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/zipp ... -prod86934

Comments

• tomisitt
    tomisitt Posts: 257
    Putting Zipps on a £500 bike might not be the best use of your budget. The Zipp in question has a Campag freehub and some reviewers say it is not 10/11-speed compatible...will that be a problem? If it's a £500 bike I'd spend the £600 upgrading the whole bike, or the groupset, before worrying about the wheels.
  • noodleman
    noodleman Posts: 852
    Just the one wheel then?
    argon 18 e116 2013 Vision Metron 80
    Bianchi Oltre XR Sram Red E-tap, Fulcrum racing speed xlr
    De Rosa SK pininfarina disc
    S Works Tarmac e-tap 2017
    Rose pro sl disc
  • tomisitt wrote:
    Putting Zipps on a £500 bike might not be the best use of your budget. The Zipp in question has a Campag freehub and some reviewers say it is not 10/11-speed compatible...will that be a problem? If it's a £500 bike I'd spend the £600 upgrading the whole bike, or the groupset, before worrying about the wheels.

I have a Shimano 10 speed; according to Zipp and others that seems to be fine. I do take your point however. That said, I have ultegra group set already (bike was heavily discounted at time of purchase).
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    noodleman wrote: