What 29" hardtail frame?????

Will_Palfrey
Will_Palfrey Posts: 15
edited November 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi, i am a 16 year old student i.e. not much money :(

For the last couple of years i have loved riding my 29" hardtail carrera sulcata, however i have decided that after pretty much all the upgrades my budget has allowed the frame is next. I am keen to keep my 29" wheel-set and 100mm rockshox xc32 front forks.
Within about a 400 pound budget could you all please advise me as to what frame would be a good choice.
INFO: i have currently found the on one parkwood and Macaskill (which is slightly above budget) and the orange clockwork 100. As Christmas is coming up i would also like to get a headset, new cranks and a bb as my presents. Does anyone have any they would recommend for a tight student budget.

Thank you very much in advance and if we can try not to convert this chat into another topic that would be great.

Cheers
Will

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Personally I'd be changing that fork first to something like a Reba not the frame.

The Carerra frame isn't amazing but isn't at all bad, the Parkwood would save you about .3Kg and isn't badly priced.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • mattyfez
    mattyfez Posts: 638
    I might be inclined to agree, the xc32 forks aint all that, a 200-300 pound fork will be a good upgrade and you've got a hundred quid spare which you can put towards cranks or headset or whatever.

I did a similar thinhe, upgraded my sr suntour XCM to an epixon, makes a big difference.
  • Thanks a lot but the headset in the carrera is non removable and is starting to make some awful noises, so i think the frame has to go. Do you have any advice as to what would be a good upgrade?
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599