Wanting to try a bike for size - a dilemma

lettingthedaysgoby
lettingthedaysgoby Posts: 1,732
edited October 2016 in Road buying advice
I'm a newbie to all this, so apologies if I'm missing something obvious!

After a great deal of thought, confusion and reading of as much info as I can, I think I've settled on what I want to buy for my first road bike, a Cube Agree C:62 disc, 2016 model. It fits my budget, has the spec I was after and as a bonus I think it looks really nice too.

However, every bit of advice I've seen says it's really important to go have a sit on the bike first, check the size etc. This also seems important as a) going on the size charts on the Cube website I'm kinda on the border between two sizes and b) I've also read in various places that Cube sizing can err on the small size and people often go one size up.

(for what it's worth I'm 5'7", with short legs)

With this in mind I really want to try one out, but the only places I can find with 2016 models still in stock are miles away (I'm in Birmingham). I could go to a local shop and try a 2017 model but I'd be a bit uncomfortable doing that as I would effectively be wasting the shops time as I'd just then have to go and buy a 2016 model online form another retailer.

Any ideas/thoughts?

Comments

• trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    You could always haggle with the local shop, say you'd prefer to buy from a local shop but I've had £x price online. The 50cm seems tiny and the 53cm seems too long.
  • trek_dan wrote:
    You could always haggle with the local shop, say you'd prefer to buy from a local shop but I've had £x price online. The 50cm seems tiny and the 53cm seems too long.
    It's not a case of being able to haggle, as far as I can tell nowhere local has the older models in stock, just the 2017 ones...
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    If in doubt - buy the smaller one - it can be made "larger"... it's difficult to make one that's too big much smaller.