1st Hill Climb

bobmcstuff
bobmcstuff Posts: 11,196
edited October 2016 in Amateur race
Just thought I'd do a little write up on my first hill climb as there wasn't that much on here when I was looking.

I didn't get much riding in during the first half of the year because I moved house, cities and jobs in March plus I'm currently studying for a part-time Masters, so I had got back up to 76kg and was pretty slow on the club rides... My masters finished for the summer at the end of July so I decided to get back in shape and I was looking for something to target, and closest to actual competition I've got before is timed climb sections on sportives. I've always fancied TTs, but by the time I figured I'd be able to get some reasonable form back (September-ish) most evening 10s are done for the season. While I was looking on the CTT website I came across the Snake Pass Hill Climb, run by Glossop Kinder Velo and decided that would be a good option. At 5.3km and 320m climbing I thought the climb would suit me reasonably well, I don't have the best power to weight even when I'm relatively in shape so steadier climbs 5-6% are much better than the 15-20% ramps that seem to be all round the Peak District.

I had a good 3 months of cycling, got back down to 70kg and went from being straight out the back on the club run climbs to being relatively quick... Unfortunately my final preparation wasn't ideal as I went to Oktoberfest Sunday-Wednesday beforehand and I don't think 3 days drinking litre steins is the best preparation for a hill climb!