Road Rage Protection

mr_eddy
mr_eddy Posts: 830
edited November 2016 in Commuting general
I have been commuting to work for about 8 years on my bike. Over the last few years I have noticed a sharp increase in the amount of abuse that gets thrown at me and my fellow cyclists either on my way to or from work.

This can't be a reflection of my road manners as my route is the same and I am a firm believer in being especially courteous. I genuinely feel that to lose some of the bad rap that cyclists get we must hold ourselves in higher regard than others and to that end I am ALWAYS cycling in textbook fashion, I stop at every red light and give plenty of room when required, I don't squeeze through gaps and wherever possible I use cycle lanes. My bike is lit up with lights even in the day time and I even put on a narrow 40cm drop handle bar to reduce my width.

Despite all this as mentioned I have been spat at / Sworn at / had apple cores thrown at me etc. Not just me I have seen it happen to other cyclists etc. Normally I have just been the bigger person and just ignored it but the other day I was trying to negotiate a car that had stopped in traffic slap bang in the middle of a traffic crossing. I negotiated past him as I was on green, Next thing I see is him getting out of the car and running up to me and pushing me. He then said " F**k you cycling tw*t I have the right of way on the road so f**k off before I cut your f**cking throat" !!

Clearly an upstanding and well educated pillar of society, Whilst I was a little shaken I just rode off swallowing the urge to kick him in the balls.