Novice Club ten TT Training

Bozabyka
Bozabyka Posts: 252
I am new to time trialling and I want to concentrate on 10TTs.
I have been looking at training plans and Friels Bible.
No Turbo available have Rollers and good lights.
If my longest ride needs to be as long as my longest race that means I only need to ride ten miles.
So if this is the time of the year to get base miles in do I really need to be doing a lot of base miles?
Years ago I used to do a regular 25mile thrash and reguarly saw my times improve.
I have also stumbled across the idea of racing yourself fit.
Could I regular 2 x10 type training on my local 10TT course and expect to get better?
Or just a regular thrash over ten miles?
Would this lead to burn out before the race season?
I dont want a complicated training plan just some thing easy where I can train hard. Rather than try to remember what I should be doing.
I plan to use rollers to improve cadence and hills for strength and a longer ride on a Sunday.
Increasing interval type sessions gradually until race season.
Reducing interval sessions every third week to allow for recovery.
First race is Boxing Day then every week from April to August.
I am not a quick rider pb is under 30 on a sporting course so plenty of room for improvement.

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Bozabyka wrote:
    If my longest ride needs to be as long as my longest race that means I only need to ride ten miles

No, it doesn't work like that. You build your aerobic capacity by riding for considerably longer than that.
    Bozabyka wrote:
    First race is Boxing Day then every week from April to August.

Many people ride boxing day 10s in fancy dress, or hung over, or both - I really would not be using that event as a serious target.
  • There are lots of ways to improve your 10 time, building a big base is not a prerequisite to going fast. People are doing 18 minute 10's off 6 hours or less.