training for a 40k tt

turbo1191
turbo1191 Posts: 501
Hi folks.. Just after some advice. I've been given the chance to do the 40k tt as part of a triathlon. There is a runner and a swimmer and we're doing it like a relay team. I'm throwing myself in at the deep end as I've never done a TT before never mind a 40k one! I think I'm reasonably fit and generally do 50-100k cycles- but obviously not tt focused. I have looked on the net and there is a plethora of information regarding preparation.. my only problem is I have got 1 month to try and train for it. What would I be best focusing on and what advice would people give me regarding training?

Thanks!

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    If you've only got one month, then just get some hard 90min - 2hr rides in and hope for the best.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Get some tight clothing, a cheap aero helmet, and some TT bars.

Do some high intensity intervals as part of your training.

Don't go mad in the last week.
  • Fenix wrote:
    Get some tight clothing, a cheap aero helmet, and some TT bars.

Do some high intensity intervals as part of your training.

Don't go mad in the last week.

I'd disagree with some of this. Tight clothing yes but the aero helmet and TT bars will probably be a waste of time given the amount of time you'll get to practice. If it's a pan flat, non-technical course then I'd relent and say it might be worth it, but if it's up, down and twisty you'll probably go quicker on the road bike and your normal setup. Some aero wheels might help though.

Training wise I'd be looking at some degree of replication to understand what pace you'll likely be able to keep on the day. An hour at tempo, pushing 20% over FTP on the ascents might give you a clue. But above all else, for race day, unless conditions play a huge factor (massive headwind out etc) then I'd just keep a bit in reserve and embrace the pain.