Training to stop me getting dropped!

ds731
ds731 Posts: 8
I'm new to racing, and pretty new to cycling on the whole... I've entered 2 races, and have been dropped by the pack both times. One was a short closed circuit race (3/4) and the other a 2/3/4 road race (kind of inevitable fate for me on that one I know).

Both times I was dropped during fast acceleration/sprinting out of corners, rather than the constant pace of the bunch which I felt rather comfortable at on both occasions!

So obviously I realise that the way to fix this is by training! The question I have is what should I concentrate on in training? Until now I have always focused on raising that golden number FTP in training, but have always done some shorter high power intervals too. Should I really start focusing on raising my peak sprint power and ~30 sec power now? If so, can anyone offer up any specific sessions that I can have a go at? :)

I have been cycling since around May and have really been enjoying it. Training has got my 20 min best effort power to 315W (4.57W/kg) on a wattbike (299 FTP) which seems just about respectable given what I've read on other forums!

Thanks a lot, look forward to hearing any replies!

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    So how many hours are you training at the moment? How many hours on FTP, how many hours on interval work? FTP work is not going to stop you getting dropped during levels of max/high intensity. Finally, unless you plan on racing throughout winter, then it's not something I would want to be working on right now, as the season is pretty much over.
  • Hi there, cheers for the response!
    I average around 6 hours a week but will look to up this to 8+ as I build towards next year.
    I'm not going to be racing through the winter but have read very varied things about amateurs and base training over winter! In your opinion should I be doing low intensity base stuff or just keep trying to build and build on my numbers?

Cheers !