Electrolytes in bottles + Protein Powders etc

Dizeee
Dizeee Posts: 337
edited September 2016 in Training, fitness and health
I have been covering decent yearly mileage now since 2013 and for 2017 I want to start introducing these 2 basic principles into my training, something I probably should have done yonks ago.

The majority of my weeks riding is a few 30-35 miles commutes, complete with rucksack, completed swiftly. I will then, if childcare/work allows, compliment this with weekend rides. I also slot in random rides as well, so my weekly mileage fluctuates anywhere 120 up to 220 miles in a good week. I am consistent, never going more than 24 hours off the bike, and incorporate a lot of variety into my routes / terrain.

I have never used electrolytes in drinks nor used protein. I think I probably should, so what is good to use and when? I usually put a lot of effort into every ride, and on a weekend chaingang I will be exhausted by the end. I do get very hungry / thirsty and so hence why I think it could be good to fuel properly rather than just drink squash and rarely take snacks with me. Currently I only take food out on a ride over 40 miles and even then not a lot of it. As for electrolytes - is it worth it and what /how to use?

Thanks

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    If you haven't used them up to this point, then there is probably no benefit in starting. It suggests that you are already getting sufficient electrolytes and protein from other sources already.
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    Protien powders are a supplement, you only need thdm if you are not able to consume enough protein through your normal diet

I only use thdm when cutting and want to maintain 0.8g per lb of lean body weight whilst not going over my calorie intake for the day ..... For the same amount of Protien in chicken they work out at half the calories .