"luxury" drop bar commuter

jedster
jedster Posts: 1,717
edited October 2016 in Commuting chat
I do about 4000 miles a year commuting and I've been doing that for 10 years on two bikes (5 years each). Just thinking I might "deserve" a new bike and be able to "justify" something really nice as I now know I'll get at least 20000 miles out of it. Current bike is an on-one pompetamine 11 drop bar/guards/rack/dyno lighting

I'd be interested in any ideas people have.

must haves:
rack and guard mounts, clearance for 28mm tyres and guards
drop bars
disc brakes
dynamo lighting (all this means is that I will need to buy a hub dyno front wheel if not standard)

preferences:
hub gears (either alfine 11 or perhaps rohloff)
if alfine - Di2 maybe
maybe gates belt drive
probably eccentric BB if I go hub gear
rust free! (been riding steel but in an ideal world Ti or carbon)

Options I'm contemplating:
Shand stoater rohloff or stooshie rohloff - ticks every box but 853 rather than Ti and would be £4k!!!
http://www.shandcycles.com/bikes/stoater-rohloff/

Burls Ti frame (they will build one with Di2 fittings, eccentric BB, not sure about gates belt gate) - frame and fork will be £1500ish. guess it would > £2500 built up with alfine 11 Di2.
http://burls.co.uk/titanium.php

Milk Bikes RDA - standard options would tick all boxes but be 4130 cromoly and alfine 8 mechanical for about £2000. at minimum I'd want to upgrade to alfine 11 - I guess £150-200 more. But they would do something custom in Ti and with Di2 but I'm guessing it would go over £3k
http://www.milkbikes.com/8-rda

And then part of me just thinks - sod the hub gear and go for a planet-x tempest (Ti gravel bike with say ultegra hydraulic discs for £2k). Looks pretty gorgeous I think.
http://www.planetx.co.uk/i/q/CBPXTEMSHI ... ltegra-hdr