Drivetrain Upgrade

veagnox
veagnox Posts: 77
edited October 2016 in MTB general
Hi guys, I'm nearly newbie here, so need your help. I got CUBE Analog 27.5 (2015) nearly 3 months ago but now I'm disappointed about it's drivetrain mechanism. They mixed everything (Alivio Cassette, Altus Shifter, Deore Rear Derailleur) so mechanism not working as good as I expected. Now I want to upgrade my 3x9 drivetrain to 1x11 or 2x10 but need some information at the point I'm total dumb about (Hubs). My bike has "Altus FH-RM33" rear hub and 9-speed "Alivio CS-HG200" cassette on it. Can I install 1x11 (SLX-M7000 series with "CS-M7000" cassette) or 2x10 (SLX-M670/675 series with "CS-HG81-10" cassette) mechanism on this hub? Have some trouble about understanding some facts, so I want to ask those questions :

1) Does any fact matter when I want to install 7/8/9/10/11 speed cassette on hub (something like hub length)? I mean is there any specification that shows that I can install only specific cassette on hub?

2) If answer to my first question is "yes", and if there is specification like hub length that allows me to install maximum of 10-speed cassette, then how I can upgrade to 11-speed even with changing hub? I mean if my bike has specific length between left and right seatstay, how the longer hub can fit to my bike?

Sorry for long post and bad English, hope some of you got my questions and will reply soon

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,702
    10 and 11 speed mountain bike cassettes will fit. Road cassettes are wider, and Sram XD cassettes need a different freehub body, but other than that, you're fine.
  • poah
    poah Posts: 3,369
    any shimano MTB 8,9,10,11sp cassettes will fit your hub. There isn't a huge price difference between some of the SLX stuf and XT.
  • whyamihere wrote:
    10 and 11 speed mountain bike cassettes will fit. Road cassettes are wider, and Sram XD cassettes need a different freehub body, but other than that, you're fine.