Food - daily intake

dinyull
dinyull Posts: 2,979
edited September 2016 in Commuting chat
I've been commuting for a few years now, but this past week my miles have increased a little.

Used to do 2 days of 8 miles each way but due to wife's new job I'm commuting 5 days a week. On top of this I'm on trainerroad 4 days a week and do a 60 mile (road) ride at weekends.

Sat on one of my usual routes I almost bonked and again cycling home last night felt pretty drained of energy.

Just asking what people usually eat during the day to keep energy up without pilling on the lbs.

Usual day is:
porridge for breakfast
tuna/chicken salad, yogurt and apple for lunch
banana mid afternoon snack
dinner is something along the lines of (homemade) curry/lasagne/spag bol/steak chips etc.
no tea/coffee, but drink plenty of water

Comments

• fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Without weights this isn't going to help you. Some people may be having twice as much porridge, or half as much.

I'd be suprised if an extra 3 days of commuting has put you over the edge unless you were very much balanced with your calories.
  • iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    I used to have these issues but there was a time when I went hard on every ride.
    Adapt to ride hard/easy days on and off. This way you don't end up progressively more drained through the week.

Are you following hard trainerroad sessions with recover pace commutes?
  • dinyull
    I've just started a new base plan on TR so they aren't "hard" sessions. But yes, I go as easy to and from work as possible.
  • davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    It would help if you gave an idea of exactly how much you're eating. Is it 50g or 200g or porridge?

Also probably worth having a go with something like MyFitnessPal or similar, working out your approximate Basal Metabolic Rate, and how much you're actually taking in (I know, you'll say "a plate of lasagne", but is that a 6" plate or a 12" plate piled high?)