Garmin vector 2s puzzled

Wilby_89
Wilby_89 Posts: 96
edited August 2016 in Road general
I have had the vector 2s for a while and use them on my turbo or out riding everyday.
I have been cycling hard for about 2 years now and would say that I am very fit and weigh around 68kg and i am 5ft 8.
Anyway my average turbo session which is hard and last about an hour I would average about 250 watts this is based on a calibration test result of something like -0.12
I thought this was a bit low and have added one of the washers that came with them.
I now get a calibration result of +0.12-+0.25 and are average 280 watts doing the same workout.
I am very confused on which readings to take serious was wandering if anyone had the same issue or any advice.

Comments

• Have you followed the installation instructions with regard to the number of washers required - the purpose of the washers is clearly stated and its down to you to determine how many are required - that said i think it probably suggests what the number that are usually needed for common cranks.

Also, do you have the correct installation torque and are your vector angles/installation angles correctly set?

I've got vector 1's, and while they can be a bit fiddly I've never come across such large measurement discrepancies. That said, how are you gauging your effort to say one workout gave you 250w ave and when you did it again you got 280w?
  • Wilby_89
    Ive got a torque wrench and do it to the correct nm.
    im gauging my effort by doi g so much time in the exact gear at the same pedal rate 50x15 but at 92rpm withoutthe washer i get 245-265 with the washer 275-300.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    The best you can hope for is a number that is reliable and consistent. In that sense, why does it matter if you get a different number with/without the washer?
  • Wilby_89
    Because I want to make sure my efforts are accurate.
    Here are the results from testing on the turbo this morning.