how often to you lot stretch/foam roll?

chatlow
chatlow Posts: 845
edited September 2016 in Road general
I've had recurring issues with my knee and what appears to be ITBS. Been fine for the past month as I've been stretching and using the foam roller most days. Plus lowered my saddle a bit.

The knee starting acting up again yesterday so I am wondering if it's due to a few less active days sitting down in the office before a bigger ride at the weekend. I work in IT security, and can be sat at the desk for hours at a time which I know is really bad.

Generally speaking, how often do people here stretch and use a foam roller?

Comments

• stueys
    stueys Posts: 1,332
    I don't, but I've just started 2-3 times a week as my hamstrings are noticably tightening. I would see a Physio if you've got knee pain, they can be funny things that take time to heal. A good Physio will help that process..
  • chatlow wrote:

Until you get your bike fit sorted out
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • slowmart
    slowmart Posts: 4,474
    Rollering and stretching aid recovery and I wouldn't look to these activities to remedy any knee complaints.

I rollerstretch as often as needed to ensure my recovery is the best it can be and to ensure I minimise any risk of injury by overloading.
    “Give a man a fish and feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and feed him for a lifetime. Teach a man to cycle and he will realize fishing is stupid and boring”

Desmond Tutu
  • keezx
    keezx Posts: 1,322
    How often do people here stretch and use a foam roller?

Never ever heard of a foam roller.
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    When ever I get muscle tightness, aches, knots etc .... works wonders, should do it all the time and not just when "needed", but who has time for prevention .. I am all about cure !
  • Pah, stretching is for girls and rollers are for walls.
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    and girls are flexible and walls stand straight.