Maximum group size in club run.

jerry3571
jerry3571 Posts: 1,532
edited September 2016 in Road general
Hi,
Is there anything in the Highway Code about the maximum number of cyclists who can ride together in a group?
Have noticed larger groups can cause issues if they're too many.
Thanks
“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving”- Albert Einstein

"You can't ride the Tour de France on mineral water."
-Jacques Anquetil

Comments

• Flâneur
    Flâneur Posts: 3,081
    No idea about the highway code, and this is far below most club run sizes but I find 8 is near perfect and 12 is the top end before you know you will really piss off drivers
    Stevo 666 wrote: Come on you Scousers! 20/12/2014
    Crudder
    CX
    Toy
  • SoSimple
    SoSimple Posts: 301
    Agree with above numbers - any more than that and we tend to split the group by creating a time gap.

As a driver, I've sat behind a large group and felt frustration as they were riding 3 abreast at times and oblivious to the chaos they were causing behind them.

We need to co-exist with cars and get away from the 'us and them' battle
  • 5 pages....
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • 5 pages....

This
    "You really think you can burn off sugar with exercise?" downhill paul
  • Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    It depends on whether they are wearing helmets and waving at other road users.
  • lancew
    lancew Posts: 680
    My club policy is 10. Statement given is that after that you're just being lazy*.

*serious reason is for safety as the OP suggested.
    Specialized Allez Sport 2013
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    I've seen those tour de France club runs on the tv. Hundreds of them.
    Lunatics!!
  • jerry3571
    jerry3571 Posts: 1,532
    cougie wrote:
    I've seen those tour de France club runs on the tv. Hundreds of them.
    Lunatics!!
    Always one! :D

Thanks for replies :)