Verve InfoCrank Nightmare

mattitheowl
mattitheowl Posts: 72
edited August 2016 in Road general
A couple of months ago British Cycling had a competition to win a set of Verve InfoCrank power meters. I didn't win but was contacted by Verve to see if I would like to take up a special offer of "naming my price" for a set. I happily did this and sent payment, it took nearly 3 weeks for the product to arrive after my payment was made but when it did I set to installing them. Now I'm not a pro mechanic by any stretch but the install was incredibly difficult and fiddly and the cadence sensor magnets supplied were a joke (big bulky stick on magnets that simply won't stick). So I ordered a bolt on set that is connected to the screw on the bottom side of the bottom bracket where the cabling runs (more on that later). So I paired the units with my Garmin 1000 and set off on a quick ride - nothing, zip, nada. Turned around and rode home to try and sort it. Turns out the magnet had already fallen off. So activated the cranks again with another magnet and went to find the original one. Now I'm getting some power readings and they seem good. I find the stick on (fall off) magnet and finish my ride. I then go on holiday for 2 weeks. Come home and dust off the bike and try to install the new bolt held magnet, only to find the supplied bolt is nowhere near long enough to attach it to the bike so have to give up on that. I activate the cranks and set off - no power again. I can't be bothered to turn around so just enjoy my ride. Get home and have a look on the Verve website and notice a firmware update which allows them to work with no magnets on the bike - BRILLIANT! So I download all the necessary software and plug in the Ant+ dongle. Follow all the instructions and the software says it will take about 5 mins to update, I leave it on 57% and go have a shower, come back and it's still on 57%. I leave it in total for an hour and it still just says 57%. So I click on the software and i