rear shox

bill89
bill89 Posts: 12
edited September 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
I am pretty new to full suspension bikes ; just bought a mountain bike and the first thing I noticed is that my pedals touch the ground too often and I almost wiped out a few times .
It turns out the rear shock is defective and not fully extended , apparently causing the sag in the frame .
The shop sold it knowingly to me this way . I did not fully test ride the bike because I already tested same model in another shop .
But my main questions are :
1. Is there something else wrong here ? Is it the rear shock's job to support the frame and give ground clearance to the pedals ? This seems a little risky to me .
2. How long does it take Rock Shox to rebuild or replace the shock . The shop sent it out to Rock Shox .
3. Has anyone ever heard of a defective shock coming straight off the shop floor ?

Bike : 2016 Devinci Troy RS .

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    1 - Yes. What ese would hold it up? And why risky?
    2 - Probably sent to TF Tuned - about a week.
    3 - Yes it happens.

Did you actually use a pump and set the correct sag?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • bill89
    1 . Risky because if it happens again ( shock fail ) , then I can wipe out when the peddles hit the ground . Obviously on a hardtail there is not this issue . Duh .
    2. OK . They really owe me a brand new one since I just bought the piece of crap and they knew it was defective .
    3. OK . How do you know exactly ?

Your last question : Has nothing to do with what I did or didn't do . The shop sent it out for replacement or fix .
  • cooldad
    1-What else could possibly hold the back end of a FS up except the shock? Anything else and it would be a hardtail.
    2 - OK. Sh1t happens. Why do think they would knowingly sell a defective bike?
    3 - Defective goods slip through the QC net sometimes, sh1t happens.