How Soon/How Much To Eat and Drink

skelliher
skelliher Posts: 2
edited August 2016 in Road general
Hi all. I'm new to cycling this summer, and have been doing some research on nutrition/hydration during a ride. I've seen the numbers for general rides (i.e. water/grams of carbs per hour on a ride), but was wondering how you'd approach my situation.

I ride first thing in the morning, and usually drink 20oz of water before heading out. I did my longest ride to date this weekend, and went 26 miles in about an hour and thirty-five minutes. Haven't needed to eat/drink during my rides before this, but needed to stop for a banana this time. For what it's worth, temps were in the low 70s, and i'm 5' 11", 160lbs.

How would you approach this? How soon into a ride do you start to eat/drink? Thanks for the help.

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Take a drink with you and drink whenever you fancy. Food-wise, you shouldn't really need anything within two hours or so, assuming you are eating a regular balanced diet.
  • sheffsimon
    sheffsimon Posts: 1,282
    skelliher wrote:
    Hi all. I'm new to cycling this summer, and have been doing some research on nutrition/hydration during a ride. I've seen the numbers for general rides (i.e. water/grams of carbs per hour on a ride), but was wondering how you'd approach my situation.

I ride first thing in the morning, and usually drink 20oz of water before heading out. I did my longest ride to date this weekend, and went 26 miles in about an hour and thirty-five minutes. Haven't needed to eat/drink during my rides before this, but needed to stop for a banana this time. For what it's worth, temps were in the low 70s, and i'm 5' 11", 160lbs.

How would you approach this? How soon into a ride do you start to eat/drink? Thanks for the help.

I'd approach it by not researching how many grams of carbs I need and if you're hungry have a banana or a biscuit or whatever.