Trek Madone 9 Series Too Much for a Begginer?

TitoDaddy
TitoDaddy Posts: 2
edited August 2016 in Road beginners
Greetings fellas,

Uber newbie here. I have a Specialized Dolce and I have little to no experience on cycling. Once my eyes laid upon the Madone, I immediately fell in love with it. However, I am having second thoughts as the Madone might be an overkill to a beginner like me.

Any thoughts is appreciated.

Comments

• TitoDaddy wrote:
    Greetings fellas,

Uber newbie here. I have a Specialized Dolce and I have little to no experience on cycling. Once my eyes laid upon the Madone, I immediately fell in love with it. However, I am having second thoughts as the Madone might be an overkill to a beginner like me.

Any thoughts is appreciated.

If you can afford it why not? I think a lot of us on here are 'overbiked' - I certainly am. It's your money, do what you want. It's not like a new driver buying a 500hp Lambo, it won't bite you or be too much to handle, it will just be a very nice experience compared to cheaper bikes (I'm guessing as never tried a Madone)
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,489
    What he said ^^

Why not - buy something you like and you're more likely to get out there, use it and get some miles in your legs.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Entirely up to you.

Personally I'd probably be sticking with the cheaper bike and get happy on that before spending big bucks. Winter IS coming and I'd not want to ride a 3K bike in the rain and mud.

Theres lots of other things to buy too - autumn and winter kit and then you have all the dark evenings to pore over what dream bike you should get in spring.