Campag chainset adaptation for a hilly terrain

runner81
runner81 Posts: 9
edited August 2016 in Workshop
Hi,
Nice weekend everyone,.
I have just purchased a 2010 Pinarrello F4:13, and I have a campag sizing question:

I have a 2010 campag system (10spd) - it's a mix of Centaur, record and chorus.
It's built with a record 39/53T crankset, a chorus regular (5.5cm) rear derailleur and a 12/25T cassette.

From what I've learned in the past few hours of searching, my rear derailleur call for a CW of 27,
and with my crank having a CW value of 14 (53-39), I understand I can have a cassete with a CW value of 13, or 14 MAX.
which means - either a 12/26T or a 13/27T.

I live in a very hilly place. My weekend routine involves a minimum 1650 foot climb, sometimes double or triple that.

As I'm new to biking, and my legs aren't strong enough - I'm looking for the most effective solution to make that ride slightly (well - much..) easier.

I understand that my options are either a 13/27T cassette - which will make things just slightly easier, switching to Compact crank (expensive), or chane the rear derailleur, in order to support a bigger cassette (13/29 for instance).

Keeping an Athena level or better, both later options are extremely expansive.

Is there any other better alternative? (besides getting really strong real fast, or not climbing hills in the meanwhile..)

Is there any other alternative?

Thanks, appriciating your time!

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    13-29 cassette should run OK on your drivetrain i.e. no need to change rear derailleur.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • Thanks!
  • sheffsimon
    sheffsimon Posts: 1,282
    Monty Dog wrote:
    13-29 cassette should run OK on your drivetrain i.e. no need to change rear derailleur.

This is correct, I ran 13-29 on a short cage Veloce RD with 53-39 chainset for quite a while, no issues.
  • Thank you :-)
  • Gromson
    Gromson Posts: 100