Advice on wheels

johanalexander
johanalexander Posts: 7
edited August 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi! I'm new here, and I'm relatively new to cycling.

I've been riding road bikes for around two years, but I never upgraded the components. Up til now I just ride whatever came with the bike. Late winter I bought a Trek emonda ALR5, and I like it alot. I'm thinking about upgrading the wheels though. This is a jungle for me. I don't have many people to consult this with except the people at my LBS. Since they only sell a limited amount of brands, I would like some advice on other brands. The bike came with Bontrager TLR wheels, good, but still the cheapest offer from Trek. This is where it gets tricky. I'm a guy who likes to ride rolling hills, and do some climbing. I suck at riding fast on the flat, and to be honest, I don't really enjoy it. My budget is about 350£. Not very much, but I hope to be able to find a good set of aluminium clinchers for that.

The wheels that I' thinking about so far are:
Fulcrum racing quattros
Mavic Ksyrium
Shimano Ultegra 6800
Pro Lite Bracciano A27

I did read a lot of nice words about the Spin Koppenberg wheels, but they seem to be out of stock and I have no idea when they restock them.

Sorry if this became a long thread, but please chime in with thoughts or other suggestions.

Comments

• If buying alloy clinchers then the preference is to get a wider rim, the Fulcrum LG range for example.
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • mfin
    mfin Posts: 6,729
    I think a wider rim is something you have to decide for yourself, popular since appearing and the trend but not essential by any means.

I'd consider Zondas, and some good tyres like GP4000S2 to go on them. You should get that lot within budget.