10 day lejog unsupported. Am I ready?

Joeslattery92
Joeslattery92 Posts: 6
Iam doing a 10 day unsupported lejog in two weeks time and I'm starting to get nervous I've done enough.

I've been cycling for 5 months but training only really stepped up from when my football season finished 3months ago.

I've picked a very direct route as I really just want to get from A to B. I'm really worried about Cornwall and my first 4days in particular as I haven't managed to get as much climbing in as I would of like.

In the last 3months I have done around 700 miles of training with my biggest ride being 103miles with 7,320ft of climbing. Felt OK afterwards. My longest ride on the lejog is 116miles (Warrington to Kendal). But after that all my rides are under 100 so I think if I can get to day 4 on the Warrington to Kendal I'll be ok?

Also what sort of training would you recommend in the week before?

I'm a chef so work 3days of 13hour shifts on my feet all day. Takes a bit out of me

Thanks if you can help. Joe

Comments

• mikenetic
    mikenetic Posts: 486
    I wouldn't do too much at all in the week before, all you'll be building is fatigue. There will be enough of that on the ride. Some light spins to keep the legs turning, but other than that it's a bit late. Training gains come during the recovery from exertion.

You might benefit more for making sure you're mentally prepared. That you know what your stops are, making sure you don't go out too hard, thinking about how to look after yourself. Maybe think about a simple stretch routine you can do at the end of each day to keep you ready for the next day. Also, work out how to maximise your recovery time by getting your post ride and morning routines nailed. It all gives you more time to relax and conserve energy. Enjoy it!
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    I'd worry more about your route choices if you've chosen the direct route. Some of those A roads are lethal.